Spirit of Caring Nominations

Adele Hall Spirit of Caring Award

Adele Hall long epitomized the spirit of generosity in our community, working tirelessly to advance the common good in Greater Kansas City through United Way. It was in appreciation of her efforts that in 2011, United Way of Greater Kansas City established the Adele Hall Spirit of Caring Award with Adele being the first honoree. This award will honor those persons who exemplify the extraordinary compassion and selflessness of Adele Hall. Individuals will be selected on the following criteria:

  • Demonstrates passion for United Way’s work in the areas of Healthy Beginnings, Prepared Youth, and Thriving Adults and Families
  • Gives generously of their time and talents through United Way
  • Serves as a volunteer leader through United Way
  • Mentors others to develop a similar spirit of philanthropy

Corporate Pinnacle Award

Each year, United Way of Greater Kansas City recognizes one company for its outstanding contributions to the Greater Kansas City community. Known as the Corporate Pinnacle Award, this distinguished honor is held in high regard by the corporate community as it is awarded through nomination by local Kansas Citians. This award is given to recognize a company with a comprehensive partnership with United Way in three categories:

Community Impact - Partnerships with a focus on the areas of Healthy Beginnings, Prepared Youth, and Thriving Adults and Families, that lead to measurable, sustainable change in communities.

Volunteer Engagement - Outstanding companywide commitment to involving employees, families, retirees and other stakeholders in volunteer opportunities related to United Way’s Cycle of Success.

Philanthropic Engagement - Corporate and employee commitment to the community demonstrated through corporate and foundation contributions, as well as employee and retiree giving.

In order to be eligible, the company must conduct an annual United Way workplace giving campaign. After winning the award, a company is ineligible to participate for the next five years. (For example, a company winning in 2013 would be ineligible for the next five years, and would be considered again in 2018.)


login/create account